

PRIVATE BAG X1 CONSTANTIA 7848 RSA TEL:+27 21 794 5128 FAX:+27 21 794 1999 www.grootconstantia.co.za

## **GOUVERNEURS RESERVE**



GRAPES	Cabernet Sauvignon 35%, Merlot 30%, Cabernet Franc 25 %, Petit Verdot 10%
VINTAGE	2019
PRODUCTION AREA	Constantia, Western Cape
GPS CO-ORDINATES:	S 34 01 56, E 18 25 26
CLIMATE	Mediterranean climate with cool breezes from the Atlantic Ocean, with an average maximum temperature in summer of 26°C, and an average night-time low in winter of 8°C. The long-term rainfall is 1100mm per year.
SOIL TYPE	The Cabernet Sauvignon and Petit Verdot vineyards are planted on north-facing red, granite-based clay soil. The Cabernet franc is grown on east-facing yellow-brown duplex soil from sandstone and granite origin and the Merlot is on a south-east facing, deep red, granite-based clay soil.
VITICULTURE	Vineyards are trained on vertical shoot position trellis systems. Vineyard actions like pruning, canopy management and harvesting are done by hand. Pest control is done biologically, and soil health and weed control are managed by a selected mix of winter cover crop.
DATE OF HARVEST	Start to end of March
WINEMAKING	The grapes were handpicked at 24 - 25°Balling and fermented in stainless steel tanks with regular pump overs during fermentation. The wine was left on the skins for four weeks after fermentation to maximise extraction and malolactic fermentation was allowed in stainless steel. The wine was matured for 15 months in 75% new, 15% 2nd fill and 10% 3rd fill 225 L French oak barrels before blending and bottling.
PRODUCT DESCRIPTION	The flagship of the Estate shows layers of flavour on the nose, like black current, ripe plums, tobacco, dark chocolate, and toasted oak. The ripe fruit and subtle use of oak follows on the palate and is framed by a firm tannin structure.
ANALYSIS	Alcohol content: 14.33 %; Total acidity: 6.1 g/l; pH: 3.56; Residual sugar: 2.0 g/l;
WINEMAKER	Boela Gerber
ASST WINEMAKER	Elzanne Bosman

DIRECTORS: Dr E A Messina (chairperson), G D May (vice chairperson), M E Africa, H Bailey, H M J du Preez, M W Jongolo, S M Lehmann, C Lin, T A Maphoto, M M Mokhoro, J van Niekerk A W Eksteen (Secretary)