

PRIVATE BAG X1 CONSTANTIA 7848 RSA TEL:+27 21 794 5128 FAX:+27 21 794 1999 www.grootconstantia.co.za Reg No. 1993/003391/08

## **GOUVERNEURS RESERVE**

	GRAPES	47% Semillon and 53% Sauvignon blanc
	VINTAGE	2018
	PRODUCTION AREA	Constantia, Western Cape
	GPS CO-ORDINATES:	S 34 02 16, E 18 25 27
	CLIMATE	Mediterranean climate with cool breezes from the Atlantic Ocean, with an average maximum temperature in summer of 26°C, and an average night-time low in winter of 8°C. The long-term average rainfall is 1100mm per year.
	SOIL TYPE	The grapes are from vineyards that vary between 50m for the lowest Semillon to 240m above sea level for the highest Sauvignon blanc. All the slopes are south to south east facing. Both the Sauvignon blanc and Semillon yields an average of 6 t/ha. The soil types vary from deep red clay soil to red-brown loamy soil, both from granitic origin.
	VITICULTURE	Vineyards are trained on vertical shoot position trellis systems. Vineyard actions like pruning, canopy management and harvesting are done by hand. Pest control is done biologically, and soil health and weed control are managed by a selected mix of winter cover crop.
	DATE OF HARVEST	Early March
	WINEMAKING	The grapes were hand picked and vinified separately in 50% new oak and 25% second fill and 25% third and fourth fill French oak barrels. The wine matured on its lees for 10 months before bottling then aged in bottle for another 12 months before released.
	PRODUCT DESCRIPTION	This blend shows white peach and pear on the nose, with elderflower and a touch of honey. Fermentation and ageing in 500L oak barrels add a hint oatmeal and vanilla. The stone fruit and honey follow on the palate. The wine has beautiful intensity, and a lively acidity adds freshness to the palate.
	SPECIFICATIONS	Alcohol content: 13.87 %; Total acidity: 5.8 g/l; pH: 3.22; Residual sugar: 1.8 g/l; Extract: 18.20 g/l
	WINEMAKER	Boela Gerber
	ASSISTANT WINEMAKER	Elzanne Bosman

ONS'I

GROOT CON GOUVER RESE

GEXWEEK, GEMAAK & GEBOTTEL OF

DIRECTORS: Dr E A Messina (chairperson), S M Lehmann (vice chairperson), M E Africa, H Bailey, P W J Bosman, H M J du Preez, E N Gillman, M W Jongolo, T A Maphoto, M M Mokhoro, R Omar, A J van Velden, B L Pillay, A W Eksteen (Secretary)